recent changes to rules
One of the most interesting rule changes this year is the one to serving. Now you get a chance to "double fault", similar to tennis. So no matter what happens on serve 1, you get a serve 2. This was instituted because the returning team usually had a huge advantage, so some chance was given back to the servers to be able to take more risks without automatically losing the point. Less stress on that first serve too.
In the recent Saskatoon tournament, this was my first time experiencing that. I felt it was a good change. It didn't add much extra time, and allowed servers to go all out trying new things. Hopeful to see what it brings to the sport in coming years!
Leave a Reply.